L-Prize; Bright Tomorrow Lighting Prizes

Competition Requirements

The PAR38 category of the L Prize competition has been updated as of July 2013. The new competition requirements include the same performance specifications detailed in the 2007 energy legislation that established the competition. Key changes include:

  • Revision to allowable beam angle
  • Dropped requirement for production of specific number of units
  • Revision to domestic content requirements

The updated competition requirements supersede the competition requirements issued in 2012.

Competition Requirements History

The L Prize competition requirements issued in 2008 included technical specifications for the 60-watt and PAR38 categories. The competition requirements were developed to ensure compliance with the general requirements outlined in the 2007 EISA legislation, with additional details specified for quality, performance, and mass manufacturing.

On August 3, 2011, DOE awarded the L Prize for the 60-watt incandescent replacement lamp to Philips Lighting North America. At that time DOE closed the 60-watt category.

On January 5, 2011, DOE announced plans to modify the L Prize competition requirements for the PAR38 category, to incorporate lessons learned from the 60-watt competition process. The PAR38 competition was temporarily closed, and reopened in March 2012. Three revisions to requirements were made in July 2013 to encourage broader participation.

The complete competition requirements for the 21st Century category have not yet been fully defined or published. The 21st Century category is not open for entries at this time. Guidance will be announced by DOE and posted on this website in the future.

Learn more about solid-state lighting at the U.S. Department of Energy Solid-State Lighting Web site

Last Updated: July 31, 2013
Security & Privacy